Free Hich – Petition

Stop the Deportation of Hicham Yezza

Please use our e-petition.

Please distribute it’s address as widely as possible. This is exactly the same as the one below.

http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/freehich/

Comments to this blog entry have now closed so people use the new petition. If you have signed the version below, your entries have been retained and will not be lost.

Hicham Yezza, has lived, worked and studied in Nottingham for the past 13 years. He was awarded scholarships to study for undergraduate and postgraduate degrees, and was later employed by the University of Nottingham. Hicham has made incredible contributions to the University, local community and society; though his studies, writings, performances, involvement in student groups and leadership in the facilitation of dialogue on contemporary political issues.

We the undersigned are outraged at the hurried and unjust deportation of Hicham Yezza.

We the undersigned demand that the Home Office:

• Recognise the invaluable contribution that Hicham has made to academic and social life at the University of Nottingham and further a-field.
• Acknowledge Hicham’s impeccable record and the astounding skills and competencies that he has to offer in this country.
• Respect Hichams fundamental human right to due process and a proper chance to make his case, before a court of law in a fair and timely manner.
• Intervene to stop his hurried, unjust, imminent deportation.

149 responses to “Free Hich – Petition

  1. I wrote a blog piece in suppot of your campaign today. Hopefully you will post it alongside other comment pieces. In the meantime, people can read it at: http://www.aworldtowin.net/blog/victim-of-new-labours-thought-police.html

  2. Samira Quraishy

    orwell’s novel 1984 comes to mind time and time again …. this makes me so angry!

  3. Please add my name to the petition.

  4. Please add my name to the petition.

  5. Richard Hindes

    I’ll put my name to that.

    Free Hich!

  6. Phil Brooker

    Please add my name to the petition.

  7. Adam Swain

    Please add my name to the petition

  8. Rob Jackson

    Add me please.

  9. Please add my name to the petition.

  10. Adnan Husain

    I am appalled at the terrible behavior of the security and immigration services that have unjustly detained this man and now threaten to unjustifiably deport him and endanger him further. This crude act by the Home Office is a thinly veiled maneuver to avoid embarrassment and the obvious racism and Islamophobia at the heart of its “security” and immigration policies and their execution.

  11. Charity Ann

    Wow, and I thought our Country was bad. ( I’m American)
    Its just so sick and twisted how once we lived in a world where we could: read, learn, and express ourselves, now we must wait for the furry of Big Brother to breath down our necks and BURN US…witch witch…..terriost..terriost…not much of a stretch.

    Guess moving to Europe is out of the question. Is there any where safe to express ones self on this planet? Or to do research?

    So sad to see the colors run.

    Isn’t this how the Nazi’s came into power?

    Papers! Papers! Show me your papers!

  12. David Coombs

    I’m a U.S. citizen, but please add my name to the petition if that is appropriate.

  13. jane-marie collins

    Please add my name to the petition.

  14. Calum Montell-Boyd

    me too (not the U.S bit)

  15. Please add my name to the petition.

  16. Please add my name to the petition.

  17. might me worthwhile to add the OpenDemocracy article by Dejan: http://www.opendemocracy.net/article/a-democracy-of-suspicion

  18. Usayd Younis

    Please add my name to the petition.

  19. Alex Pilcher

    Please add my name to the petition. Better still, please set this up as an online petition so that we can encourage others to sign more easily. For example: http://www.petitiononline.com

  20. Martha Butler

    If *receiving* an e-mail is deportation-worthy, then we’re in real trouble. Don’t the idiots making these decisions ever get spammed? What a terrifying precedent to set!

  21. Dr. Trudy Bond

    Please add my name as a U.S. citizen.

  22. Please add my name to the petition. I urge readers to also look into the case of Aamer Anwar – another example of the state silencing dissent

  23. Kate Bradley

    Please add my name to the petition

  24. Orwell 1984. Free country please.

  25. Latefa Guemar

    I am shocked!! Where is the academic freedom??

  26. Steve Legg

    Do sign me up..

  27. David Matthews

    this is outrageous stuff! Please add my name in support of Hicham Yezza.

  28. John Arnold (professor)

    Please add my name to the petition

  29. Guy Whitmarsh

    Home Office decisions are cruel and arbitrary, but they do respond to pressure ( which is even more feeble ). Good luck!

  30. Alex Barnes

    Please add my name to the petition.

  31. Ruqaya Izzidien

    Sign me up for the petition! Thanks

  32. This Goldsmiths Research Officer wholeheartedly supports the campaign to halt the deportation of Hicham Yezza. Government security forces intimidating, arresting and silencing academics? It sounds all too horribly familiar. Some wheels aren’t meant to turn.

  33. Please add my name to the petition. I am Lilly Evans, UK citizen and deeply concerned that this is happening in our midsts.

  34. Deborah Ainscoe

    add my name to the petition thanks

  35. Ross Balzaretti

    Please add my name to this petition

  36. Neal Curtis

    Due process. Fair trial. Democratic institutions. Academic freedom. Please?

  37. Sara Motta

    I fully support the petition against this arbritrary, unfounded and clearly politically motivated detention and threatened deportation. Today, we had a wonderful turnout to the demonstration for academic freedom and the release of Hicham at the University of Nottingham. Many of Hicham’s colleagues were also out in support with people from all over the country, and a cross- section of the university community.

  38. John Krinsky

    Please add my name to the petition, though I, too, am a US Citizen. Substantive due process is important to respect for any state that pretends to be any more than an organization of gangsters. We’ve lost it here…

  39. Please add my name to the petition.

  40. Clare Herrick

    Please add my name to the petition

  41. Raf Verbruggen

    Add my name to this petition please! Cheers.

  42. Susan Reynolds

    Please add my name to the petition

  43. Christos Zografos

    Please add my name to the petition

  44. Free Hich!

    Please add my name to the petition, and keep us updated! Thanks for this great job.

  45. Stuart Hodkinson

    I support the petition and feel sickened by what has happened.

  46. Antti Kauppinen

    I’m happy to virtually sign this petition, and second the call for a more formal online effort. The behaviour and prejudice the authorities have displayed in this case is shameful, and of concern to academics everywhere.

  47. Walter Nicholls

    Please add my name to the petition. I’m a US and French citizen.

  48. luke dickens

    please add my name to the list

  49. Nuhaila AL- Rawahi

    Please add my name to the petition!

  50. Heike Joens

    Please add my name to the petition!

  51. Pete North

    This is outragious – an atack on basic civil liberties of the worst kind, as well as on academic freedom, worthy of the most paranoid and totalitarian state.

  52. Please feel free to add my name to the petition. I will also forward the information.

    Kate

  53. Andre Robie

    Please add my name to the petition.

  54. Colin McFarlane

    Please add my name to the list.

  55. Nick Rush-Cooper

    Please add my name to the petition

  56. It is unbelievable that this could occur in the UK; a travesty.

  57. Please add my name to the petition.

  58. Alex Vasudevan

    Please add my name to the petition.

  59. Please add my name to the petition

  60. Alex Jeffrey

    Please add my name to the petition.

  61. Shari Daya

    Please add my name to the petition.

  62. Clare Clements

    Please add my name to the petition.

  63. Please add my name to the petition.

  64. Please add my name to the petition. I am concerned about this case’s implications for academic freedom and democratic processes of justice in this country.

  65. Hisham Zerriffi

    I’m not a UK citizen (Canadian and American), but if it will help please add my name to the petition.

  66. alaaeddin ayesh

    FREE HITCHAM!!!

  67. Mike Evans

    I support his petition – from Michigan, USA

  68. Eric Olund

    This is outrageous–please add my name.

  69. Chris Harker

    Please add my name.

  70. I’ve linked to your site and asked people to sign the petition:

    http://nomademoderne.wordpress.com/2008/05/28/researching-while-arab/

  71. Alf Nilsen

    Please add my name to the petition!

    Alf

  72. Lee Freeman

    Please add my name to the petition

  73. Paola Sileno

    Please add my name to the petition.
    Solidarity from Bristol!

  74. Matt Gardner

    Yes. Add me.

  75. Lukas Novak

    Please add me.

  76. Professor Kathleen McAfee

    Please add my name to the petition.

  77. kye askins

    please add my support for these demands … in peace.

  78. Fella Lahmar

    No, comment!! Are we in Britain or ….??
    Please add my name to the petition

  79. Janet Forbes

    So sad that so much can be lost over so little.
    Please add my name

  80. Denis Linehan

    Please add my name to the petition

  81. Karen Adler

    Please add my name.

  82. Vicky Smith

    Please add my name too.

  83. Franziska Meyer

    Please add my name to the petition.

  84. Susanne Seymour

    Please add my name too.

  85. Andrew Chitty

    Please add my name too.

  86. Begum Basdas

    add my name pls.

  87. I am astounded at the behaviour of my former University and simply in utter beweilderment that the police in this country are in such a desperate attempt to pin something on someone that the small matter of HUMAN RIGHTS gets trampled on.

  88. Rebecca Morris

    I have met Hicham on several occasions through friends and am horrified at what is happening. Please add my name to the petition.

  89. John McManus

    Please add my name.

  90. Sandra Lucille

    Please add my name to the petition.

  91. Mandy Roland-Smith (Psychotherapist)

    Please add my name to the petition.

  92. Do we really live in a democracy with human rights? or is that just a facade for a police state where people can just be bundled off to africa at the whim of the home offce?

  93. This is awful. I hope you can stop his deportation.

  94. Sophie Ivil

    Please add my name to the petition as I am unable to get onto campus to sign.

  95. Don’t be surprised, this is what the liberal state is : brutal, arbritary, paraniod and intolerant. It now becomes a serious question whether it is safe for non-Christians to live in this country!
    Down with Christocapitalism! Please add my name to the petition.

  96. Please add my name to the petition

  97. It is most important that Hicham gets a chance to appeal. The Algerian authorities are notorious for rough treatment of persons they detain for up to 12 days incommunicado, which is routine for people suspected of terrorism. If Hicham goes back with this label, as undoubtedly he would, he is likely to be detained and in detention,may be beaten or threatened. He would be in the same category as several people who have been the subject of Amnesty appeals.

  98. Waheeda Samji

    please add my name to the petition

  99. John Mcfeely

    Nottingham UNI is acting disgracefuly and is becoming the Judas of the academic system by denying Hich and handing him to their political masters.
    Add me to the petition

  100. Godfrey Yeung

    Please add my name to the petition

  101. Please add my name to the petition.

  102. subir sinha

    I condemn the way the university is functioning as part of the security state. This is a dangerous precedent, and must not be allowed to pass unchallenged. Surely there is a legal process to deal with this, and to punish him if he is guilty? Or have we lost all trust in the judiciary and therefore have opted for summary justice?

    Please add my name to the petition.

  103. Gurminder K. Bhambra

    Please add my name to the petition.

  104. Michael Landzelius

    Please add my name to the petition.

  105. Rachele Borghi

    Please add my name to the petition

  106. Jennifer McCarthy

    Please add my name to the petition.

  107. angrybonbon

    Please add my name to the petition. My offline/real name is Julian Holloway.

  108. Benedikte Zitouni

    Not only the state but also universities seem to be in a dire state: consulting police for printed material and research on terrorism?! Please, do add my name to the petition.

  109. Please add my name to the petition

  110. Marcus Shukla

    Please add my name to the petition

  111. Jeppe Strandsbjerg

    If this is tue, it is as shameful as anything I have heard for a long time. I thought the Danish government was bad but this is worse

  112. The incident had been blown entirely out of proportion. Please add my name to the petition.

  113. Please add my name to the petition.
    Give my colleague a fair hearing and stop his deportation on Sunday 1st June!

  114. Leilani April

    Please give Hich a fair hearing.
    I’m disgusted at the Home Office acting as if they are above the law. Everyone has the right to a fair hearing yet Hich is being denied of this. …silly me for thinking I lived in a democratic country….

    Please add my name to the petition

  115. Daniel Neuman

    Absolutely disgusting, how many times must we allow authoritarianism to prevail over liberty? The British University system is really outdoing itself to conform the climate of academic serfdom outlined by the Evian process. Disgusting. Please add me to the petition.

  116. Grace Fernandez

    Add me to the this petition too.
    Can’t believe that happenned in Uk!!

  117. Marta S. Salvà

    It was Schrödinger’s curiosity that killed the cat, not the cat’s curiosity.

    Please add my name to the petition.

  118. Liza Griffin

    please add me to this petition

  119. Liza Griffin

    Please add my name to the petition.

  120. Free Hich!

    Please Add my name to the petition and

    FREE HICH!

  121. Anna Krzywoszynska

    Please add my name to the petition.

    Do not allow xenophobia ruin our lives.

  122. Hello, I know this gentleman and can attest to his character. This is an absolute tragedy,

    Rashid.

  123. Adam Britner

    Glad to be counted in….

  124. Soud Al-Riyami

    Count me in, Hich is a good man. He does not deserve this…

  125. Anja Kovacs

    Please add my name to the petition.

  126. Vidar Bakkeli

    Please add my name to petition.

  127. Christian Karner

    Please add my name to the petition!

  128. Kirsten Forkert

    Please add my name to the petition as well.

    What is happening to this country? The xenophobia and fear-mongering are going way, way too far. We have to stop this NOW. Free Hich!

  129. Hilda Parker

    Please add my name to the petition.

  130. Zahera Harb

    Stop ‘terror paranoia’, protect academic freedom and free Hicham.

  131. Kim Kotchanski

    I support Hich’s attempts to get a fair hearing.

    Please add me

  132. Elisabetta Zontini

    Please add my name to the petition

  133. Natalia Dovlatova

    Please add my name to the petition.
    This is unacceptable.

  134. staffan schmidt

    please add my name to the petition!

    this comes as a result from the widespread and indiscriminate use of “security” by the dominant forces against individual and collective rights, at the universities, but also in low income neighborhoods. it is deeply worrying, albeit significant.

    Free Hicham!

  135. Please add my name to the petition.

  136. Géraldine BOZEC

    Please add my name to the petition.

  137. Sally Boyle

    Please add my name to the petition

  138. Elodie Marandet

    And mine thanks

  139. Dr DAVE WESTON

    i’m in.

  140. Severine Arsene

    Please add my name to the petition.

  141. Lotta Rüger

    Please add my name to the petition!

  142. Anje Müller Gjesdal

    Please add my name to the petition. (Norwegian citizen).

  143. salah eddine

    free hicham

  144. Nidhi Trehan

    Free Hicham…and provide him with due process.
    Thanks.

  145. please add my name to the petition

  146. sarah bonnarme

    please add my name to the petition

  147. Natasha Picot

    Free Hicham we miss him. What happened to justice in this case?

  148. Natasha Picot

    Please add my name to the petition